Safe Mode RIP – Alt PC Emergency Recovery Breakdown Service…

This is what happened when a driver update killed my system and I needed to fix it. 

This was the moment I found out there was no longer an F8 Safe Mode in Windows 1o…

 

 

So, at this moment in time, it seems like there’s a good change I may have broken my computer.

Well, actually… not me. NVIDIA, actually. To be presice, it was their GeForce Driver update [375.70]. It showed an error message then it stopped working properly. Then it stopped working at all.

It won’t boot properly. It starts, goes through the BIOS, gets to the Windows 10 blue squares, then… nothing. Doesn’t keep on booting after that. It took a while but I finally managed to get it into Safe Mode  – and boy did that take some time and doing too.

Windows 10 – SAFE MODE:

No more is there an F8 … and MS can F-***

Apparently the trick is to get to fail to boot 3 times – at this point the system finally clocks onto the fact it’s not working properly.

This is when you are given actual Troubleshooting options – the RE(covery Environment): SELECT: Troubleshoot > Advanced Options > Startup Settings > Restart > Select option 4 [Safe Mode] with Curser / Function Keys.

The Scouts didn’t have it wrong when they said always be prepared.

Without a Recovery Point from System Restore, or a Recovery Disk [USB], I am very limited with what I can do. So I have put whatever is portant on the OS SSD onto a USB backup drive – just in case it really does need to be reformatted – and uninstalled the NVIDIA Drivers that caused the issue.

Now… It’s Reboot Time.

Restarting now…..

OMG I’m IN!

***

Well, I can tell you the first thing I’ve done is create a restore point…

I’m going to be brave now and try that driver again. Yes. Call me an idiot. But I have to try. And I’ve tried something called a Clean Installation. I don’t know if that will help or not, though.

***

Wow… All done. Took just a few minutes… Nothing’s exploded yet so I’ll take that as a good thing.

I didn’t get that same window popup again, so I maybe in luck that I made the right choice with that Clean Installation thing (it was under Custom Installation settings).

I’ve run an extra Restart to test. All good – I got back in. However, there’s been a strange side-effect to Safe Mode: The One Drive folder is no longer recognised – although it’s still there (on a 2nd HDD). I’ve re-set it up and pointed it back to the folder it’s already inhabiting, and all I can say is it better not duplicate anything…  I think it’s just re-synching itself, though.

 

And now for the ultimate tester – playing Dragon Age: Inquisition on it … which it crashed and burned before dying on me…

Unfortunately, this isn’t kicking back in first time. I’m obviously concerned about corruption to the saved games, and I’ve requested a Repair via the Origins desktop  client. For some reason it still had difficulty actually booting, just a black screen with the little green Rift icon flashing away in the corner relentlessly.

Still naught. It looks like I may have to reinstall it. It’s possible the corruption got into it … No, actually, strangely enough I go back to shut it down, but start up the ASUS GPU Tweak II desktop client instead – and suddenly the damn thing comes to life after a good 5 minutes of just spinning on its heels. The thing is it’s taken another 5 minutes to get into the Save file, so now I’m getting quite concerned…

And it’s only taken until 2:20am to accomplish this so far … Thank you, NVIDIA.

 

 

About delphinemusic

Over-enthusiastic gamer, geek, techaholic, dabbling writer & copy editor, and raging Coffeeholic ~ Loves Gadgets, Games, Tech... And Coffee. Lots and lots of coffee. ~ Obsessively-loving: Dragon Age, Mass Effect, Skyrim, Elder Scrolls Online, Fable, Divinity: Original Sin ~ ~ Successful gaming rig builder: i7-4970K, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD, 1TB + 3TB HDD Storage, GTX 1060 6GB OC, 1150 ASUS Z97-A ATX mobo, Windows 10 ~ Trying to learn about Linux... Emphasis on "trying"... Including Fedora, Ubuntu, Mint and Raspbian ~ ... Oh, and did I mention I love coffee...?

Posted on November 26, 2016, in Gaming, Glitches & Issues, Graphics Cards, Hardware, NVIDIA GeForce, PC Own Build, Windows 10 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Autism and expectations

The thoughts of an autistic woman

the silent wave

life through one female Asperger's lens

Mom Life

Sometimes the things we can't change end up changing us.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Chariot's Tales

Adventures in a doggy-drawn chariot... Just where can you go with four wheels?

TechNow_ScribbleBug

A Scrapbook of Random Scribbles on Writing, Games, Tech, Gadgets, General "Geeky-Suff" & Being A Linux Noob

The Misadventures of Mama Pineapple

Social awkwardness, flights of fancy, uncontrollable urges to dance...the life and times of one adult-diagnosed autistic woman.

jeanettepurkis

Thoughts on all things Autism and mental health

Pain Warrior Code

For you fellow pain warrior, who needs encouragement

Dancing through Rainbows

Tackling chronic life with humour and optimism

Squeeze the Space Man's Taco

A journey into Cade's world

The Autistic Womens Empowerment Project

Empowering Autistic Girls and Women

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

Rhino

My Journey through Video Games & Geek Culture

TechNow Geek

Back To Basics: Musing About Gadgets, Gaming and Tech... Without the Geekanese

My Small Surrenders

A PERSPECTIVE ON LIVING WITH CHRONIC PAIN

babycrowyoga

my yoga journey

Techodyssey

Some of my experiences with technology

audio acolyte

On a journey to find the perfect sounds...

