Goodbye [God-Awful] Wileyfox…

I loved my Wileyfox Storm. I really respected their stand against general mobile phone manufactures. But now they have clearly lost the plot – and in this instance a once-loyal customer too.

I literally got my Swift 2 Plus handset today (day of writing) and I can’t even get it to charge. Nor did it hold its charge either, that 50% it came with right out of the box. My PC thinks it’s malfunctioned and refuses to acknowledge it (both USB 2.0 and 3.0 ports), other USB ports don’t seem to charge it, and right now it’s on barely-there life-support – holding a meagre and un-moving 3% – plugged into my PS4. Attempts to contact customer services is like hitting head on a wall – and you get the same result… nothing but a headache.

I was looking forward to using this phone. I had my Wileyfox Storm – until the screen accidentally got written off completely and it was murdered via blunt-force-trauma – and I loved it. It was perfect. I thought nothing of going back to Wileyfox and getting one of the latest handsets. Big mistake.

I have been shocked by my inability to get this one to work at all, because the battery (or maybe charger, I can’t test it because I only have this one USB C charger, that came in the box – unlikely, but possible). One might expect some issues at some point, but not right out of the box.

I have had problems contacting their customer service department, and to be honest, they don’t seem to be particularly bothered about helping at all. If they ever answer you at all, they can barely contain their nonchelance. I was quite taken aback by their absolute lack of customer service quality.

I’ve seen a few like-for-like recommendations, so I shall have to try one of those instead, and leave Wileyfox behind now. Unfortunate, because it is (… was…) a British company with good intentions and ideas… in theory, at least.

Racist Address Page & Astounding Customer Service

When I was trying to purchase a new phone, I originally wanted their Swift 2 X – only currently available through their website. It was more than the Swift 2 Plus, but then you got more.

So off I went, chucking it in the basket, all ready and looking forward to getting it. But then… it refused to acknowledge my Welsh address! Three… or four times. I tried it again, and again, and again… Nothing. It literally didn’t accept the Welsh names or spelling. Amazingly, the website itself is actually racist!

The Customer “Service” people on the Chat option were clearly trained right out of the School of Basil Fawlty. In fact, he would have been better. And funnier. These people knew less than Manuel… about anything. My dog could have done a better job. Even Jack Dee would have done a more cheerful job…

And their response to the Welsh-language problem? Oh yeh, that’s probably it, then… Astounding. Unprecedentedly Astounding…! In every worst possible sense. There are just no words. They didn’t even try to rectify it, or over-ride the system… nothing. And that was the second person I spoke to. I disconnected the first Chat conversation because they were downright rude!

A £220 sale out of the window. Just like that. I just hope they’re so very pleased with themselves… as they’re clearly heading for the cleaners, if the fact I am in the majority of people here with such an experience…

About delphinemusic

Over-enthusiastic gamer, geek, techaholic, dabbling writer & copy editor, and raging Coffeeholic ~ Loves Gadgets, Games, Tech... And Coffee. Lots and lots of coffee. ~ Obsessively-loving: Dragon Age, Mass Effect, Skyrim, Elder Scrolls Online, Fable, Divinity: Original Sin ~ ~ Successful gaming rig builder: i7-4970K, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD, 1TB + 3TB HDD Storage, GTX 1060 6GB OC, 1150 ASUS Z97-A ATX mobo, Windows 10 ~ Trying to learn about Linux... Emphasis on "trying"... Including Fedora, Ubuntu, Mint and Raspbian ~ ... Oh, and did I mention I love coffee...?

Posted on February 1, 2017, in android, Gadgets, Glitches & Issues, Mobile Phones, Random Rant, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Geoffrey Thomas Richardson

    I am having the same problems. Did you find a phone number?

Leave a Reply

Autism and expectations

The thoughts of an autistic woman

the silent wave

life through one female Asperger's lens

Mom Life

Sometimes the things we can't change end up changing us.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Chariot's Tales

Adventures in a doggy-drawn chariot... Just where can you go with four wheels?

TechNow_ScribbleBug

A Scrapbook of Random Scribbles on Writing, Games, Tech, Gadgets, General "Geeky-Suff" & Being A Linux Noob

The Misadventures of Mama Pineapple

Social awkwardness, flights of fancy, uncontrollable urges to dance...the life and times of one adult-diagnosed autistic woman.

jeanettepurkis

Thoughts on all things Autism and mental health

Pain Warrior Code

For you fellow pain warrior, who needs encouragement

Dancing through Rainbows

Tackling chronic life with humour and optimism

Squeeze the Space Man's Taco

A journey into Cade's world

The Autistic Womens Empowerment Project

Empowering Autistic Girls and Women

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

Rhino

My Journey through Video Games & Geek Culture

TechNow Geek

Back To Basics: Musing About Gadgets, Gaming and Tech... Without the Geekanese

My Small Surrenders

A PERSPECTIVE ON LIVING WITH CHRONIC PAIN

babycrowyoga

my yoga journey

Techodyssey

Some of my experiences with technology

